Loading... Please wait...

Blog - boaters card

California boaters card

Posted by

Beginning January 1st 2018 California will be begin the process of issuing boaters cards to those persons that complete the boating safety course required by the state of California. Beginning now the card is required for all persons driving a boat between the age of 15 years old and 20 years old. Starting next year and going through 2025 the age required to have the boaters card will increase until the year 2024 when everyone 60 years old and younger will be required to have the California boaters card. In 2025 all boaters will be required to have the card. You can visit the website californiaboatercard.com for more information and details on where to take the test to get your card. Their will be fines for not having a card. The fines will start at $100 and will go up for a second and third offense and the court will require you to take the course and get your card.

So best to take care of this now especially if you are under the age of 20.

Yours in boating

Mitch Bernardo